10 fun facts about the Solar System

Teach children about our cosmic neighborhood – Solar System!

10 fun facts about the Solar System:

  1. The 8 planets of the Solar System include 4 inner planets – Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars, and 4 outer planets – Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.
  2. The outer planets of the Solar System are made mostly of gas and water. The inner planets are made up almost entirely of rock and dust.
  3. The Sun, our local star, is made up of hydrogen and helium.
  4. There are also 5 dwarf planets: Pluto, Ceres, Eris, Makemake and Haumea.
  5. The band of asteroids, Asteroid Belt, is located between the orbits of the planets Jupiter and Mars.
  6. The hottest planet isn’t closest to the Sun. It’s Venus, the second planet.
  7. The coldest planet isn’t Neptune, the farthest one! It’s actually Uranus. The 7th planet from the Sun.
  8. Saturn is a planet well-known to kids for its rings. Jupiter, Uranus, and Neptune have ring systems, too. Just not as large as Saturn’s one.
  9. The word planet comes from Greek and means “wandering stars“.
  10. There are 140 known moons, natural satellites.